Skip to main content

Community Bank® pioneer appointed as bank director

1 March 2010 |Media centre

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank has appointed founding Community Bank® chairman David Matthews to its board.

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Chairman, Robert Johanson, said the 51-year old grain farmer and exporter from Rupanyup in the Wimmera was selected for his strong connection to regional communities.

“David’s experience as a farmer, in agribusiness and his community involvement means he will bring a fresh perspective to the boardroom table,” Mr Johanson said.

Mr Matthews was an innovative pioneer in the early days of the Community Bank® network, chairing the first Community Bank® company in Rupanyup and Minyip and serving as a director since 1998.

“The success of this pilot has seen a further 250 Community Bank® branches launched Australia-wide, with David playing a key role in developing the branch network as Co-Chairman of the Community Bank® Strategic Advisory Board,” Mr Johanson said.

Mr Matthews said he’s looking forward to being more closely involved with the decision making process at Bendigo and Adelaide Bank. He sees his appointment as an acknowledgement of the maturity and contribution of the Community Bank® network to the business.

“Bendigo and Adelaide Bank is clearly seeking board diversity and my appointment is a statement to the Community Bank® family – which includes customers, shareholders and thousands of supporters across Australia – that their combined efforts are valued and important to the bank.

“While the Community Bank® model was initially pitched at rural and regional locations, it was quickly embraced by suburban and city communities and in the past eight years Community Bank® branches have accounted for 27 percent of all new Australian bank branches,” Mr Matthews said.

“I look forward to seeing Bendigo and Adelaide Bank continue to grow its business and our connections to customers, communities, shareholders and staff will play a key role in that development.”

Jim Hazel has also been named as a director. Mr Hazel currently chairs the board of our majority-owned subsidiary Rural Bank and throughout his career has worked in numerous roles within the regional banking landscape including a term as Chief General Manager of Adelaide Bank in the 1990’s. He will step down as chairman of Rural Bank at its next meeting, but will remain a non-executive director.

Related Topics

Connect with us

Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited, ABN 11 068 049 178 AFSL / Australian Credit Licence 237879. Any advice provided on this website is of a general nature only and does not take into account your personal needs, objectives and financial circumstances. You should consider whether it is appropriate for your situation. Please read the applicable Disclosure Documents before acquiring any product described on this website. Please also review our Financial Services Guide (FSG) before accessing information on this website. Information on this page can change without notice to you.

© Copyright 2022 Bendigo and Adelaide Bank